LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Moving vertex & Soft selection

Martin Andersen
08-28-2003, 05:48 AM
Hi all & Bobo :applause:

I have a little question here:

In poly, vertex mode, softselection turned on:

I have selected some vertex and moved them with

move $.selectedVerts [123,123,123]

The selected vertex is moving, but all the other vertex that is affected by the soft selection is NOT ??????
Why that ???

:wavey: :wavey: :wavey:

08-28-2003, 08:06 PM
You have to explicitly move the affected verts when using maxscript. As far as I have been able to determine, this means cycling through all the mesh's verts and using getVDataValue() on channel 1 to get the softselect value for each vert, then multiplying the move value by this amount, and then moving the vert by that amount. Naturally, this isn't a fast operation, so I recommend sticking to bitarrays where possible rather than arrays (bitarrays are faster).


CGTalk Moderation
01-16-2006, 12:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.