XM Magdalena 3D print, GGeorgy (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Turbosmooth Pinch

11-12-2009, 10:23 AM
Hi Guys

Modeling with editpoly on max 2010

Edge seems to pinch when using turbosmooth

ive checked the edge to see if theres any extra edges with it and theres none, also checked the vertices but none extra

what you think could cause it, could it be the angle of the edges?


11-12-2009, 11:17 AM
what you think could cause itBad topo. You need quads for clean subdivisions.

11-12-2009, 12:58 PM
When you say quads, which parts arent quads in that area?

Mind me still a newbie

11-12-2009, 01:06 PM
Quad = polygon with 4 vertices/edges, tri = polygon with 3 vertices/edges, nGon = polygon with more than 4 vertices/edges.
When you say quads, which parts arent quads in that area?The pinched parts.
In your first screenshot you have 3 vertices marked, that polgon can't be a quad obviously( I can see 5 vertices on top + 2 invisible vertices on the bottom, maybe even more) hence it get's pinched.

11-12-2009, 02:59 PM
Quads are good as you say, but i cant find non quads in that area

ive highlighted what i find as quad polygons in colours. the 3 vertices you mention yes there are three there but theres a fourth above which makes all quadfaced

some screens to explain

im a little confused

Thanks alot for your assistance

heres the links


11-12-2009, 03:07 PM
Those three edges just abruptly stop forming a large n-gon at the back of the hollowed out section of the mesh.connect the verts to their symmetrical opposites(running parallel) to form quads.

11-12-2009, 03:54 PM
the 3 vertices you mention yes there are three there but theres a fourth above which makes all quadfaced
Well you can go on and pretend that it is all quads, but as already stated above, the pinched poly has 7 edges(or more), not 4.
ive highlighted what i find as quad polygons in coloursGood for you and quite right, but you still miss the relevant part - ie the nGon you created(no,it's none of the coloured ones).

11-14-2009, 08:01 AM
Okay guys, since i confused the situation i started afresh

heres the mesh


with a turbosmooth modifier it seems to be okay just needs more iterations


however when i add these extra edge loops to harden the edge


thats when this pinching starts to happen


11-16-2009, 12:47 AM
you'll need a holding edge on the other side of the edge you are trying to harden as well. That's why you're getting the result you want on the top plane, but the geo is going loopy in the recess. Add one more and you should be good to go.

11-16-2009, 12:24 PM
Perfect the extra edge as you said cleared the pinch

Thanks Raven means alot

and thank all you guys for the assistance, sorry for being a pain

11-21-2009, 11:20 AM
No problem, having to keep all quads for subdivision, now that's the pain! ;)

CGTalk Moderation
11-21-2009, 11:20 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.