Lost Adventurer, Aleks Kirilenko (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Maya - Modeling Windows into a Building

09-15-2009, 03:39 PM

So at my new internship I have been tasked with modeling some buildings for a show the studio is working on. The buildings have these long windows on the side of the building that are somewhat indented and I was wondering the best way to model this. Right now I used a boolean but I am pretty sure it corrupted my latest save file (thank god for incremental saves). I have mostly done organic modeling where quads matter because of subdividing, but I was not sure if they still matter when modeling a building.

Here is a link to what I have done.


09-25-2009, 05:42 PM
I use booleans all the time. What you are doing is a step in the right direction, but the cleanest way to do it is to organize your mesh ahead of time for the 'boolean>difference' operation. Heres some visuals.

Truth be told, there is not 'wrong' way as long as the end result looks good and is workable, but I like to keep my meshes visibly clean, as corrupted geometry and large scenes cause big headaches down the pipeline.


09-25-2009, 07:21 PM
awesome thanks for the help that makes much more sense.

CGTalk Moderation
09-25-2009, 07:21 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.