View Full Version : Utilizing 4gig of memory in Vista 32bit


robkoni
07 July 2009, 03:42 PM
Ok I looked through the docs and it says change your boot/ini file ,well I did a search and cant find the little perisher ,anyone know where to find a boot ini file? ,or anouther way to maximize my 4 gig ?
Thanks Robin

InfernalDarkness
07 July 2009, 10:41 PM
Under 32-bit Vista or XP, you will top out at 1.5GB for any particular program. You can use the /3G switch, but your application has to be compliant with that as well, and 32-bit Mudbox is not.

RAM is cheap; Windows 7 64-bit is free to use currently. Mudbox 64-bit works wonders and gives the user massive overhead compared to 32-bit, and if you end up using Mud a lot, it's worth the upgrade to 64-bit.

aaabbbcccddd
08 August 2009, 07:02 AM
Total RAM usage in a 32 bit environment I believe is limited to about 3.2GB of RAM.

robinb
08 August 2009, 12:05 PM
The boot.ini file doesn't exist in Vista, but there's an alternative method of making 3 gigs available to apps-

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/item?siteID=123112&id=9583842&linkID=9240617

CGTalk Moderation
08 August 2009, 12:05 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1