XM Magdalena 3D print, GGeorgy (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Maya To NUKE (Locators)

06-21-2009, 07:42 PM

In Maya:
After a shot is layed out, I use some simply locators as reference where things are in relation to the camara's perspective. (locators are renamed "null00-null09" etc.)

In After Effects:
locators (nulls) are imported and I can place cards in the locators positions, thus keeping correct drift as seen through the camera.

locators/nulls don't import as far as my education goes (still learning NUKE).
Is their any workflow to accomplish this?

Thank You

06-22-2009, 06:27 AM
How are you exporting... the newer versions of Nuke have FBX support. According to one of the master class videos on there website you can get the locaters in there using FBX.

06-22-2009, 07:04 AM
Use the Mocon suite of scripts. They are excellent to transfer data like cameras and locators into Nuke and After effects.



06-22-2009, 12:24 PM
Rob, Cliff..

Thanks for responding, I tried the .fbx workflow per the help doc but the locater was not showing up. Trouble shooting vs. my deadline ain't happeing.

Tried the mocon script and it was fast and simple. :thumbsup:


CGTalk Moderation
06-22-2009, 12:24 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.