XM Magdalena 3D print, GGeorgy (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : SetTarget Method in Link_Constraint()

03-24-2009, 08:40 PM
Hi, does anyone knows exactly how and when it's useful to use the SetTarget Methods in a link constraint.

I've been playing around with it and I can't seem to have it work properly.

$.transform.controller.setTarget $Box01 3

I get this error message: -- Unknown property: "setTarget" in Controller:Link_Constraint

It seems to me that the setTarget method does about the same thing than the AddTarget one.

Could anybody help me to understand it more. Thanks all for your time.

03-26-2009, 06:26 AM
if you write

showinterfaces Link_constraint()

Interface: constraints
<node>getNode <index>nodeNumber
<integer>getFrameNo <index>targetNumber
<boolean>setFrameNo <index>targetNumber <integer>frameNo
<boolean>addTarget <node>target <integer>frameNo
<boolean>DeleteTarget <index>targetNumber
<integer>addWorld frameNo:<integer>
frameNo default value: -99999

so it shows no setTarget method :shrug: , unlike the ref manual

03-27-2009, 02:46 PM
Thanks Decon, I was starting to think that I was dumb or something. Pretty weird that they put it in the manual but it doesn't really exist. I still have a hard time believing it.

Thanks for your time!

03-27-2009, 03:31 PM
brrrr, scary ghost methods ... :twisted:

03-27-2009, 04:04 PM
This has happened plenty of times, the help file is usually created during the beta process. If a feature of scripting is removed (during testing or in a later version of Max), and the writer of the help isn't notified then it goes unnoticed. I guess we will need to notify Bobo of this in hopes of it being corrected in a future version of the documentation.


CGTalk Moderation
03-27-2009, 04:04 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.