Lost Adventurer, Aleks Kirilenko (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : how to use the shadow pass?

02-18-2009, 08:42 PM
how you use the shadow pass into a comp?

does it work like occlusion setting it to "Multiply" or any special thing we need to do to be able to set it up?

02-19-2009, 02:43 AM
A typical setup: (node names might be different depending on your compositing package)

File in your shadow pass
Swap Channels to AAAA
Blur ----can be modified with a roto so you get more blur further away from the source
Gain the BG (gain the plate down as well as adjust RGB values to get the correct color
LumaCurve the BG (use this to knock down any highlights in the plate

Hope that helps

02-24-2009, 03:32 PM
thanks everything new is appreciated,

Swap components and click on A A A A to all on the red green blue and alpha.

02-24-2009, 05:19 PM
In your compositing packacge there should be a node to swap channels around,
usually your input will have the R,G,B, A channels (red, green, blue, alpha)
you want to swap them out so that the alpha channel is now in the r, g, b

(R)ed ->(A)lpha
(G)reen ->(A)lpha
(B)lue ->(A)lpha
alpha stays the same

hence AAAA

CGTalk Moderation
02-24-2009, 05:19 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.