View Full Version : mental ray satellite (M2009) Mac/Vista problems


cgartists
02 February 2009, 12:48 AM
Hi,
I'm running Maya 2009 on OSX 10.5.6 and wanted to take advantage of satellite on Dell Vostro with Vista Business.
I've installed Satellite on PC machine - RaySat2009 service is working and port 7109 is visible as open to my mac master. Master has maya.rayhosts with slave IP:7109.

mental ray: got 8 satellite CPUs.
MEM 0.0 info : heap size limit set to 3228 MB
Info: (mental ray) : number of render thread(s): 2
// mental ray for Maya: using rayhosts file /Users/User/maya.rayhosts
Info: (mental ray) : adding rayhosts
Info: (mental ray) : adding host: 172.16.119.198:7109
MSG 0.0 debug: mi_msg_add_host adding host 172.16.119.198:7109, socket -1
MSG 0.0 info : adding new host 1 (172.16.119.198:7109)
MSG 0.0 error 011330: mi-ray/tcp: not a service (check /etc/services)
MSG 0.0 warn 012219: using fallback inet service 7003
MSG 0.0 warn 012217: bad response: 'The syntax of the command is incorrect.??' (41/512)
MSG 0.0 warn 012218: check executable and version used on remote host:port 172.16.119.198:7109
MSG 0.0 error 011321: read from host 1 failed: Connection reset by peer
MSG 0.0 error 011213: cannot receive welcome message from host 1 (active)
MSG 0.0 debug: mi_msg_open: rendezvous failed
MSG 0.0 error 011706: cannot add host 172.16.119.198:7109

After this it just goes on with the render simply ignoring any network activity...

All posts refer to earlier versions so I don't know if it is Vista/OSX/2009 specific?
Both Maya and Satellite are installed from one disc. I'm using normal license file for Maya - nothing network based. I've tried all instructions people suggest and it is not working as simply as it should...
Please share if you have any suggestions?

SlipAway
02 February 2009, 02:46 AM
Off the top of my head have you entered the correct line into the windows/system32/drivers/etc/services document on the Dell?

Based on this error line I see:

MSG 0.0 error 011330: mi-ray/tcp: not a service (check /etc/services)

I think this line should be added to it, and I don't know if you've tried it yet since I don't know what advice others have given you:

mi-raysat2009 7109/tcp

I'm pretty sure that's it but if I'm wrong it is in the documentation. Hope this helps.

cgartists
02 February 2009, 08:01 AM
hi SlipAway,
Thanks for suggestion, but yes that is what I did first - mr docs suggest this should be done automatically so I thought installation process went wrong but then I added the line with 2009 in it and 7109 port and only then the RayHosts service would run.
I even tried to telnet it from my mac:

Mac:~ Lem$ telnet 172.16.119.198 7109
Trying 172.16.119.198...
Connected to 172.16.119.198.
Escape character is '^]'.
The syntax of the command is incorrect.
Connection closed by foreign host.

I was thinking it may be Vista's fault somehow but an error also happens on my machine. When I add my IP to rayhosts it gives me:

Info: (mental ray) : adding host: 172.16.119.199:7109
MSG 0.0 debug: mi_msg_add_host adding host 172.16.119.199:7109, socket -1
MSG 0.0 info : adding new host 1 (172.16.119.199:7109)
MSG 0.0 warn 012229: could not connect to host:port 172.16.119.199:7109 - Connection refused (IPv4)
MSG 0.0 error 011228: mi_msg_connect: failed to create active socket

Despite OSX Prefs>Security>Firewall being set to Allow all...
I'm not sure if those two cases are connected but it may give someone a clue where my problem may be.

Any further comments and suggestions are really welcome! :)

SlipAway
02 February 2009, 09:26 AM
Is there a router in your network that may be blocking port 7109?

cgartists
02 February 2009, 04:02 PM
Hmm interesting point - I have read about this and reviewed it's settings (Apple Airport Express) but I couldn't find any setting that would mention blocking ports. I was experimenting and enabling/disabling NAT protocol didn't help. As for port mappings I have added Public/Private port 7109 for my laptop's IP and it didn't help either. Anyone uses this device? Had experience with it? It if not a renderfarm solution but that's what I have :/ Anyways it may still not be the cause of my problems...

SlipAway
02 February 2009, 08:57 PM
Hmm interesting point - I have read about this and reviewed it's settings (Apple Airport Express) but I couldn't find any setting that would mention blocking ports. I was experimenting and enabling/disabling NAT protocol didn't help. As for port mappings I have added Public/Private port 7109 for my laptop's IP and it didn't help either. Anyone uses this device? Had experience with it? It if not a renderfarm solution but that's what I have :/ Anyways it may still not be the cause of my problems...

Any firewalls on all computers, or built in to the router should allow traffic both ways on port 7109. I suggest checking all security software and the router/modem for a firewall that may be turned on. I'm not too familiar if Mac OS has a built in firewall but check that and Windows' too.

CGTalk Moderation
02 February 2009, 08:57 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1