View Full Version : Initial particle placement


analog
01 January 2009, 03:14 PM
It's been a long time since using Particle flow and my knowledge was minimal at best so bear with me.

What i'm trying to accomplish is to have a wall of words that would start in formation and then break up into a vortex. I haven't found much for direct resources online, but i did find a tutorial I could repurpose. here (http://www.tutorialized.com/view/tutorial/Text-Dispersion-Effect-Using-Particle-Flow/37150)

Essentially Particle flow is using a shape instance of my letters, which are all broken apart and the grouped. The problem is that if I separate particles by group members then all of the letters will move to the same point.

Does anyone know where I can look to get more information on setting the initial placement of particles, or is there a different workflow I should be looking into.

http://www.mediafreehouse.com/kevin/particle%20placement%201.jpg
http://www.mediafreehouse.com/kevin/particle%20placement%202.jpg

grury
01 January 2009, 04:07 PM
I guess the pivot point must be the same for all the letters, as in using the group pivot point. U should center the pivot point to each individual letter. That should do the trick.

analog
01 January 2009, 04:15 PM
that was my original thought, but If I ungroup the object and center the pivot point to the object, and then regroup, the problem seems to persist.

JayG
01 January 2009, 05:29 PM
This is sweet, I'm pretty new to pFlow as well and this piqued my curiosity. =)

If you don't mind, I don't really understand the problem you're having. Are you trying to have the words stay intact as they form into the vortex, or have the letters all fly separately?

analog
01 January 2009, 05:54 PM
I want the letters to fly away seperately after a couple seconds. I've done some searching online and discovered a Birth Script written by Bobo which was used to handle fragments in explosions. here (http://www.scriptspot.com/bobo/)

I figured I could repurpose that and in one sense it worked, the initial placement seems correct, but the problem now is that if I scrub the timeline the particles dissapear. I have to click edit script and then close the dialog. Also they don't seem to render.

It seems I'm missing something altogether though because it seems like there is a way to make sure that the particles start in a certain position. I thought that maybe position object would help, but i haven't really seemed to figure that one out.


Edit: I rebuilt the scene and using the script appears to work now. Don't know why it didn't in the other scene but I'll keep my fingers crossed.

JohnnyRandom
01 January 2009, 10:21 PM
I figured I could repurpose that and in one sense it worked, the initial placement seems correct, but the problem now is that if I scrub the timeline the particles dissapear. I have to click edit script and then close the dialog. Also they don't seem to render.


Try adding a cache operator to the global node. It should alleviate the problem.

CGTalk Moderation
01 January 2009, 10:21 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1