LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Colouring ambient occlusion

12-31-2008, 10:22 AM
Hi. Is there a way to colouring the ambient occlusion shading in Lightwave like in mental ray shader in 3ds max or XSI? I'm trying to get a similar result to this ( ) . The problem is that the Grit plugin is too slow and i have too
detailed geometry. I hope there is an easy way with amb.occlusion. Any ideas? Thank you in advance. Happy new year to all!

12-31-2008, 01:32 PM
You could do that with a mixer node, example with Denis Pontonier Amb occlusion (but I get every occlusion shaders will be fine :) )

Amb Occlusion Scalar outut: plug into the Opacity input of the Mixer Node
Color Tool output: plug into the Bg Color of the Mixer Node
Color ouput of the Mixer tool: plug into the color input of the Surface node.

Should work fine :)

01-02-2009, 05:51 PM
Thanks Mucus. I found cool stuff on that site :thumbsup:

01-03-2009, 02:39 AM
Check also SG_AmbOcc ( and these nodes configurations ( for similar effects :)


01-03-2009, 02:58 AM
I love the grit shader. I know it's slow.. But you can bake the grit results using the surface baking camera.

01-03-2009, 05:38 AM
Btw, the fastest dirt shader that I've tried is TB_Dirt ( Very easy to use too. Just consider is a shader, not a node. But for some reason, shaders versions are commonly faster than nodes :)


01-03-2009, 11:55 AM
Very useful tips, thanks a lot guys :)

01-08-2009, 12:33 PM
Here's another option:

Anything Goos (

You gotta pay for it tho.

01-08-2009, 09:50 PM
The way i do it is...

Create your rust/grime/dirt shader that you want to be used only where occlusion takes place.

Bring in an occlusion node, and a mixer node.

Plug the main surface shader into the background of the mixer and the rust/grime/dirt shader into the foreground.

Plug the occlusion node into an invert node then into the opacity of the mixer node.

Now your dirt/grime/rust shader will be using the occlusion pass as its opacity map.

01-15-2009, 10:17 PM
Also, checkout for cool surface presets, I'm sure there will be something in there to get you started in the right direction.

01-17-2009, 10:20 PM
Hi and thanks for the replies! I want to ask you one more thing.
What for /on what purpose/ do you use the absolute morph maps since you cannot use them with morph mixer in LW layout?
I didn't knew this tricky point and i got quite unpleasantly suprised today. I can't copy
absolute morphs as relative, can't create new with bkg to morph over the copy of the model. How generally can I copy transformation data from absolute to relative morph maps? And what is the reason the absolute morph to exist? :curious: :hmm:

TrueArt Support
01-17-2009, 11:09 PM
If you have TrueArt's Modeling Pack you can use GenerateEndomorphs, to convert it from absolute to relative and vice versa..

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2009, 11:09 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.