View Full Version : YafRay


actionfigure
06 June 2003, 12:27 AM
Hey all, Im new to animation and found Blender to meet my needs. I have heard of YafRay and even downloaded some small file but I dont know what it is and how to use it. An help of any sort would help me even tutorials on Blender. I have bought the Offical Book and so far its ok. I misses alot of steps.

:D

actionfigure

Chris
06 June 2003, 12:34 AM
what operating system are you on?

If you are on windows, just run the Yafray installer to install it. Then you need a script to output your blender scenes to Yafrays XML format. The most current one is here:

http://www.kino3d.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=815

so download that, load it into a text window in Blender, run it & bob is your second cousin.

actionfigure
06 June 2003, 04:58 AM
Is Yable the same thing as YafRay? Sorry if this sounds stupid but like I said Im new...

Thank you Chris. :thumbsup:

hannibar
06 June 2003, 11:05 AM
yable is the export script for yafray
=> it takes the model information and puts it in yafray's format.
It also lets you assign materials to the models, and cgange light properties.
Just try. It's very easy.

dani
06 June 2003, 06:01 PM
you'll also need to install python

www.python.org

to set it up correctly you'll need to check this lit'l thread:

http://www.elysiun.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7723

it's not complicated, and Yablex is very handy!

So Blend ON!

Dani

CGTalk Moderation
01 January 2006, 11:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1