View Full Version : help please: graphic card for Maya

matscam
04 April 2002, 11:35 AM
can some please help me with advice on getting a graphics card for Maya - or 3d in general. I am quite new at this
I just dont know what to choose and I dont really want to go for the most expensive card.
I have read all soft of posts that say ATI is better than NVidia, and vice versa.
I have no idea what to get, and could possibly someone at least point me in the right direction.

I dont want to buy something something incompatible , or just a waste of money.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

p.s also advice on other components would be nice too .e.g processor, dual or not, and such things.

Dragonius
04 April 2002, 12:17 PM
what's your budget?
is it a dedicated system?
What else do you use your system for?

i go for nvidia my self but answers to the above should narrow the field...

matscam
04 April 2002, 12:25 PM
I would really like to get a card for less than $600.

As well as maya I want to use it for image editing, but not much else, I want to limit the use of other applications on it if I can help it.

what do you mean by 'dedicated system'?

also are dual processors worth investing in, will Maya be ok with a single processor? and is a single AthlonXP 2100 sufficient? or is it best to get a P4 (but they are so much more expensive)

sorry, lots of question :)

Stahlberg
04 April 2002, 06:37 PM
'Dedicated' here means 'only meant to be used for that'.
Dual is always better than single if you can afford it.
Seems most techies prefer Athlons.
(I'm not much of a techie myself.) :)
Don't know too much about cards, check out the xboxx site (www.boxxtech.com) their system is the only dual Athlon system that has been certified for Maya.

matscam
04 April 2002, 06:53 PM
thanks for the reply,

I had a look at these machine before,
but I have no idea how much they cost
I have read good things about them though.