View Full Version : Cast Shadows in MR


Humorous03
09 September 2008, 08:36 PM
I'm working on lighting a scene with reflective surfaces in it. I can tweak the reflections just fine, but I can't seem to get any cast shadows to show up at all. What am I missing?

Thanks

scrimski
09 September 2008, 08:59 PM
What am I missing?

Informations about the used software.

mister3d
09 September 2008, 12:37 AM
Reflection overrides diffuse. You can't see a shadow on a perfectly clean mirror.

Humorous03
09 September 2008, 06:28 PM
Sorry about the vauge posting.

I'm using Maya 8 and the plug-in MR that came with it.

In the pictures, you'll notice that the cube has attached shadows, but no cast shadows, nor does the sign to the right of the cube in the first picture.

I hope this helps!

divi
09 September 2008, 06:54 PM
i take it you turned on shadows for the light?

Humorous03
09 September 2008, 08:54 PM
Yeah, I checked the check boxes for the shadows.

Humorous03
09 September 2008, 09:05 PM
Here are screenshots of the shadow attributes of the MR lights.

Humorous03
09 September 2008, 06:25 PM
Yay! I got the cast shadows to show up! Here's a pic of the cast shadows, which are kinda diffuse, but is that correct because of all the reflective surfaces in the scene?

Humorous03
10 October 2008, 10:46 PM
How do the shadows look? Good? bad? :D

CGTalk Moderation
10 October 2008, 10:46 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1