View Full Version : Custom Maya's internal settings


soullessf
08 August 2008, 05:34 PM
Hello,

I write my own plugin. I know that using MEL I can change to Maya's settings on a per project or on a systemwide basis.

How I can do it?

For instance, I want to ensure that all users consistently use the same time, angle, and linear units. I want to hide or show UI Elements…

ashishdantu
08 August 2008, 03:50 AM
hi,

if all your systems have access to a common share or drive, say "t:"

you can use a batch script to copy a maya.env file to each of their computers on startup.

then in the env you can define something like :


# Environmental variables for soullessf
MAYA_SCRIPT_PATH=t:/pipelib/;t:/pipelib/scripts;
MAYA_PLUG_IN_PATH =t:/pipelib/plugins/2008;
XBMLANGPATH = t:/pipelib/icons;


and then in the t:/pipelib folder, have a usersetup.mel in which you have all the required units, etc commands like:
// Change the current time unit to ntsc
currentUnit -time ntsc;
// Change the current linear unit to inches
currentUnit -linear "in";
so this usersetup.mel will execute these commands on maya startup...

and in T: drive you can have these folders with respective files, scripts etc.. this is just one way of doing it.. there could be better ways... but this works for me :)

soullessf
08 August 2008, 12:39 PM
Thank you very much. All ok.

From Spain,

Soulless.

CGTalk Moderation
08 August 2008, 12:39 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1