View Full Version : 3D Tracking Problem (Student)

Waterfronts
07 July 2008, 02:10 AM
Hey I'm a student at VFS and I'm having a real hard time tracking it. I'm using Boujou and I have no instructors at my school who know how to use it even though were supposed to get taught it. So I'm having to resort to people outside of my school. I have linked below the shot I'm trying to track. Its a dolly pan camera move and I just cannot get the solves I need, nothing is working. I've masked out everything that moves, which is a lot, and I've even put in locators and target tracks ontop of the normal feature tracks. I've tried specifieing out of all the feature tracks which ones I want boujou to solve with by making them gold tracks. I've put in all kinds of planer constraints and resolved and ajusted for camera distortion and camera path smoothness. I've tried everything I can think of and watched evry tutorial I could get my hands on but I haven't been able to get a good solve out yet and I've been solving for about 2 weeks now and I'm very frustrated and getting kinda depressed and running out of time. I've heard you can't get a perfect solve this kind of camera move, I've heard your supposed to get it close and then hand animate it in post. But I'm havig problems even doing that. So if ANYONE has any comments, suggestions or things to try or even past work experience with this that they could share it would be greatly appreciated!

This is the link to my shot:
http://student.vfs.com/~3d71manley/Dolly_Pan.mov

This is a one of the best tracks I have so far:
http://student.vfs.com/~3d71manley/blast4.mov

Ralphy
07 July 2008, 03:15 PM
Looks like you're getting pretty close.