LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Keep Apart Finally working in 2009?

04-16-2008, 09:46 PM
As I thougt I was going nuts thinking what the hell is wrong with the Keep Apart operator. What I suspected was true the operator wasn't fuctioning like it used to. It seems something has happened to it. I would expect some difference between the 32 and 64 bit version but as you can plainly see something is/was wrong.

Anyway, attached a test file, if you want to see if you get the same results.

Max8 sp3 (

04-17-2008, 05:31 AM
My Max r9 and 2008 gives the same results as your r8 and 2009, at least in the 64bit, havent tried 32. But I do have PFTools box3 installed on each version, so perhaps the changes it makes is fixing the issue?

04-17-2008, 03:26 PM
Thanks for checking Charley.

Now that is interesting, maybe this problem lies from within some of the PFlow box updates I have. I do have Boxes 1&3 installed in everthing but Max2009.

EDIT: I think I found it, it seems to have to do with the ParticleActions.dlo v1.0.3.1. I rolled back to the original pre-box3 and it seems to function now?

Doesn't make sense in your case since you have Box 3 installed too, what version is it? 1.0.74

04-17-2008, 07:58 PM
I have on R9 and in 2008. I use Keep Apart a lot. I know there was a problem with it in R9 where it got really slow. Oleg fixed it and I believe that fix persists in Box3 where it is actually much faster than the standard Op. But I haven't ever seen the problem you are showing here.

CGTalk Moderation
04-17-2008, 07:58 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.