View Full Version : Selection Handle?

04 April 2002, 06:33 PM
Is there a kind of 'selection handle' in XSI, similar to the one in Maya, so that I can easily pick the joints inside my character?


04 April 2002, 07:10 PM
I 'm not sure to anderstand what you refer to (cause I don't know maya )....but you can choose in this menu whatever you want to be selectable or not.
You can work with different layers layer for the mesh and another for the skeleton!!

04 April 2002, 07:44 PM
No, sorry, there is no selction handle in xsi, but there is another stuff to simplify bones selection:

Select your bone(s), open property with 'Selection' key (on the middle right of main interface) and click on 'Chain bone' icon.

Once the chain bone property page is open, enable the 'Display Shadow Radius' and use the slider named 'Shadow Radius' to set the dimension of bone(s).
This feature allow you to choose the dimension of bone display.

Hope this helps



04 April 2002, 08:53 PM
Another thing you should get used to when working with character and complex hierarchies is to use the Schematic View.

This is a graphical representation of your hierarchy. What you should do is to make all effectors orange and all roots black, control objects red and green, so you can find easily your objects in the whole tree.

A quick way to use the Schematic View is to hit 9, then scale it to occupy the whole screen, and double-click on the top bar to close/open it. You can pan/zoom in the Schematic, as well as frame (F key) your selection or view all (A key).

Hope this helps
Salutations - Cheers
Bernard Lebel

04 April 2002, 05:15 PM
Thanks for the infos. I'll try it immediatly. :)


CGTalk Moderation
01 January 2006, 05:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.