View Full Version : question about occlusion pass

bonestructure
03 March 2008, 02:42 PM
I'm working in Max 7. I've never used occlusion before, but in the scene I'm working on, I'd like to try it. But I have a couple of problems I don't know the answers to. I have the scene in a seperate file set up with the occlusion materials and all, but the scene originally has several lights in it, including one negative light to darken a corner under a table. The scene itself is a night time scene, interior, with the primary light coming from moonlight through a window. Accent light coming from near the camera, set low, as if from another room. Another accent light for rim lighting as coming from a radio dial. Not a strong light, just enough. And another couple of lights just to lighten up an object here and there in the scene that's too dark without it. Apart from the moonlight spot casting shadows through a window tinted slightly blue and set at .8, most of the other lights are set between .5 and .1. It's not an extremely dark scene, but it is night. I don't want to lighten the scene up, so how do I composite the occlusion pass over the scene in order to get the detail and shadow the occlusion provides, without making the scene brighter? The final scene has already been rendered, and post worked, so it's just the way I want it. I just want the shadows and details occlusion provides.

As well, is it absolutely necessary to use Final Gather on an occlusion pass, or can I get along without it?