View Full Version : No SubD ??? Please Help

02 February 2008, 03:43 PM
I am a beginner, owning 6.5 ESS. I run XSI on my Macbook Pro 2.4 nVedia 8600GT 256 VRAM via Bootcamp.

Last month I followed Aaron's book XSI4 modeling the dinosaur. Everything worked fine. Until last month I modeling just a sphere (for the dinosaur eye), but I can not activate Subdivision for smooth model look by using (Numeric)+ key at all.

Is there anywhere I can fine the pull-down menu for activating Subdivision?

I have tried both external keyboard and the built-in on my Macbook, but none worked. I am thinking the reinstall XSI, but it would be a great help if I can solve this issue without reinstalling everything.

Thanks,

CiaranM
02 February 2008, 03:58 PM
Hi,
I use a macbook also. I was surprised to find that the macbook does not have a numeric keypad, so does not have the associated + and - keys. In XSI, I had to use keyboard mapping to remap the subdivision keys to '-' and '=', which can be found next to '0' on your keyboard.
I also found it helpful to remap all functions that use the 'delete' key to the 'backspace' key, which on your mac is labelled 'delete'.

Hope this helps.

02 February 2008, 06:11 PM
Thanks for the tips. I think remapping the key is great idea.
However, before this, I can use Function key (+) + to get Subd.
Now, although I used external keyboard, it still doesn't work at all. The Delete key works well.

Ohmanoggin
02 February 2008, 07:31 PM
Not sure if this is of use...

You can set sub-D level by going to Property / Geometric Approximation.
Then on Polymesh tab, you can set Sub-D level for Viewports and rendering.

Ohmanoggin

02 February 2008, 07:38 PM
Thanks

Look like it is a bug from Apple Boot Camp. A lot of people out there lost there Function keys and Del key.

curbsidebandit
02 February 2008, 07:58 PM