View Full Version : how to do this ?????


bmlokesh
01 January 2008, 09:11 AM
I am trying ot write a script for unhiding and unfreezing all the objects including layers
my code is like this
It should basically select every object including helpers, shapes, geometry ......

Here I am trying on simple boxes

for o in selection where not(o.layer.on) and (o.layer.unfreeze ) do o.layer.on = true
(
select $box*
unhide selection dolayer:true
unfreeze selection dolayer:true
)

This is working fine but I have to run the same code for 3 times to get what I desire
anything wrong with this code???????

Thanks in advance

U.S.S. Speed
01 January 2008, 05:47 PM
I've just check this :


Everything = ($objects) as array

for o in Everything do
(
unhide o doLayer:True
unfreeze o
)


And it appears to work fine.

Little note, I learned the hard way to not use "select" in a maxscript. Maybe I was doing it wrong, but it always slowed my script to hell when it was called too often.

RustyKnight
01 January 2008, 10:49 PM
I am trying ot write a script for unhiding and unfreezing all the objects including layers
my code is like this
It should basically select every object including helpers, shapes, geometry ......

Here I am trying on simple boxes

for o in selection where not(o.layer.on) and (o.layer.unfreeze ) do o.layer.on = true
(
select $box*
unhide selection dolayer:true
unfreeze selection dolayer:true
)

This is working fine but I have to run the same code for 3 times to get what I desire
anything wrong with this code???????

Thanks in advanceU.S.S. Speed approach is correct, but I might also add
unfreeze o doLayer:true
as well, just to be sure.

The reason, I think, your original code is having problems is the fact that you are only look at layers that are off and unfrozen, which may be limiting your results...

Shane

Gravey
01 January 2008, 01:33 AM
just to add a bit more to what has already been said:

i think the simplest and fastest way would take only 2 lines unfreeze objects doLayer:true
unHide objects doLayer:true if you also want to select everything, use select objects

CGTalk Moderation
01 January 2008, 01:33 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1