Lost Adventurer, Aleks Kirilenko (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : render BENDER

04-16-2003, 08:11 PM
hey ya folks,
we've been working a 2k by 2k job for the past few days and finally we had to distribute the rendering for getting it done on time...deadline day after.

Problem:every thing renders fine on our native office workstations(mix of amd's and intels) we had to take the files and render them at our subsidary office...we just got a call that the frikkin shadows wont render there(shadow mapped) :shrug: .The same file renders just fine here...there goes my 5 hours sleep. :annoyed:
any ideas/solutions.


04-16-2003, 09:09 PM
Does it run out of memory at any point? Could you use saved shadow maps? Are all the shadows from spot lights?


04-17-2003, 04:39 PM
Any chance your rendering with linux locally and windows at the remote location?

04-17-2003, 06:26 PM
thanks for the replies folks ;) .seams some one fudged up with the use environment background shader settings :surprised .some wise alek there just had to put his too bit in at 12 in the night,.after that afx did not accept 16bit tiffs so we had to composit on the flame..when it rains it pours now dosent it :rolleyes: .any way alls well now phew !!!.
thanks for the help.

beaker: most of the peeps here(india) will run a mile away when you mention linux for cg.it's either windows or crapple :twisted: .


CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 10:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.