View Full Version : GUI Help: Control to select attribute

lightwolf
09 September 2007, 09:46 AM
Hi there,

forgive me if I missed something here (I'm new to both Maya and MEL).

I need to allow the user to select a bunch of attributes via a GUI. Specifically a bunch of rotational axes (i.e. object.rotation, or object.rotation.x).

What would be the best way to approach this? I've tried attrNavigationControlGrp but that got me nowhere.

Thanks for any help!

Cheers,
Mike

Segmoria
09 September 2007, 12:26 PM
Try this:
attrFieldSliderGrp -min -180.0 -max 180.0 -at ("pCube1.rx");

lightwolf
09 September 2007, 12:47 PM
Try this:
attrFieldSliderGrp -min -180.0 -max 180.0 -at ("pCube1.rx");
Thanks... but that only displays the attribute. I want a way for the user to select an attribute (so that I can then use that internally as a source for my code).

Basically an attribute picker.

Cheers,
Mike

Segmoria
09 September 2007, 01:11 PM
So you want to prompt the user to select some attributes from a list? Why not use a textScrollList then where the user can also select multiple attributes?
Something like that maybe:

window;
columnLayout;
text "Atrributes";
textScrollList -numberOfRows 4 -allowMultiSelection true
-append "rotationX"
-append "rotationY"
-append "rotationZ"
-showIndexedItem 1;
showWindow;

lightwolf
09 September 2007, 01:16 PM
So you want to prompt the user to select some attributes from a list?
Not quite... any attribute of an item.
Basically this is to control a motion control from within Maya, and the user should be able to select in the GUI which attribute drives which axes of the motion control.

Why not use a textScrollList then where the user can also select multiple attributes?
Something like that maybe:

I've had something similar to that using a pop-up menu, but that'll be hard to maintain if the scene changes.