View Full Version : total noob

TOPMO3
08 August 2007, 10:31 AM
-----------EDIT

Scroll to bottom

-----------EDIT

Hey folks,

forgive my noobiness, I'm just getting through the DIgital Tutors: Arists Guide to Mel.
I've rigged up my own models for a while now, and am trying to figure out how to write some MEL scripts to help me do so much more quickly. Question is this.

I have two objects selected. Then i run my script. How can I store the NUMBER of objects/nodes/items selected instead of their names?

I know i can do something like

string $objectArray[] = `ls -sl`;

and store the NAMES of the objects in that array, but how can i query that array to get the NUMBER of names stored in it?

This is probably so easy it's embarrassing. Please help a noob anyway. I dont want to be afraid of MEL anymore :)

Michael

Piddu
08 August 2007, 11:14 AM
Don't worry nobody born knowing mel already.
You should use the size commanda which returns the number of items in an array.
You should write:

int $numObjs = size($objectArray);

or

int $numObjs = `size $objectArray`;

That it is completely the same things.
Then pay attention: if you want to iterate the elements inside the array you mustn't reach the element $objectArray[$numObjs] because it doesn't exist.
The maximum element is $objectArray[$numObjs - 1], cause the array in mel are 0-indexed, in other words your first element is $objectArray[0], the second is $objectArray[1] and so on.

Bye

tbaypaul
08 August 2007, 05:35 PM
mel is really just the specific maya tool commands..like...move, extrude, ls and other. But the stuff that binds the commands together into a script is just the programming language c. So get a cheap used intro to c and that will explain alot of things about variables, data types and arrays.

TOPMO3
08 August 2007, 06:30 PM