Lost Adventurer, Aleks Kirilenko (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Possible to reposition bones after skinning? (max)

07-05-2007, 08:49 PM
Is it possible to reposition a bone within a character that already has been skinned without its mesh changing or moving with the bone? I'm working with max 9 btw.


07-05-2007, 11:25 PM
turn off 'always deform' in the skin modifier move the bone, turn it back on again.

07-06-2007, 12:29 AM
try the same as eek says but with "always deform"

07-07-2007, 09:39 AM
i usually turn off the skin modifier before repositioning bones, afterwards i turn it back on and switch always deform off and back on in one go

this is because the mesh is gonna deform even though always deform is disabled, for example if you are not directly moving the bones you are skinning to, i.e. they are connected with constraints or other connections

CGTalk Moderation
07-07-2007, 09:39 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.