XM Magdalena 3D print, GGeorgy (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : subd and mental problem

01-21-2007, 04:08 PM
Hello, I have a problem with simple object
this picture is showing it with poly wire:
http://img47.imageshack.us/img47/8422/siatkabase6rk.th.jpg (http://img47.imageshack.us/my.php?image=siatkabase6rk.jpg)
next what i`m doing is converting to subd - What I want to achieve are sharp edges
Picture below shows object in subd
http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/9888/siatkasubd5ys.th.jpg (http://img262.imageshack.us/my.php?image=siatkasubd5ys.jpg)
So to do hard edge I`m selecting these edges :
http://img248.imageshack.us/img248/4954/siatkaedge7ki.th.jpg (http://img248.imageshack.us/my.php?image=siatkaedge7ki.jpg)
After full crease I get this:
http://img47.imageshack.us/img47/5570/siatkaedgesubd3pd.th.jpg (http://img47.imageshack.us/my.php?image=siatkaedgesubd3pd.jpg)
Everything is fine till render when I get this
http://img159.imageshack.us/img159/3577/efekt6cr.th.jpg (http://img159.imageshack.us/my.php?image=efekt6cr.jpg)
Every corner is messed up :/
Please help - what I`m doing wrong
It`s only appear in rendering

Thank You for your time.

01-21-2007, 05:30 PM
maybe if you added a another line to that last row of polygons. its worth a shot.

01-22-2007, 12:33 AM
If you are using mental ray as your renderer then thats your problem, as it doesnt support creasing. Nor does Renderman. Basically, moral of the story is, avoid creasing whereever your can.

If you have completed your model however and you want to render it out in mental ray still, can I suggest that you convert your model back to poly's. It will render fine then.

01-22-2007, 06:47 AM
Thanks Greg - I`v tried - it render good but I lost hard edges :/

01-22-2007, 03:10 PM
There are other ways to make your your modeled edges hard. Can I on your next edevour you try one of the following:

When creating your poly model, bevel your edges. if your want the edge to be sharp, then you want the bevel to be in nice and close, tight into the main edge. If you want it to be soft, then you pull the edges back, and it will give you a smoother result.

Failing that the Maya Software Renderer does support creases. You could always try that though I dont recommend it unless you need to.

CGTalk Moderation
01-22-2007, 03:10 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.