XM Magdalena 3D print, GGeorgy (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Displacing Geometry

Mr. D
01-12-2007, 01:09 AM

Ok got how to load a bitmap and set it up in the Displacement Channel, and I see the Displacement on render. But is there a way to do actual displacement of the geometry to the mesh?

Thank you Mr D

01-12-2007, 01:57 PM
If you download 2.43RC1, there is a displacement modifier that allows you to use a texture as displacement that applies it to the mesh during interactive display. Is that what you are looking for? I found this link in the German documentation:


Good luck!

Link to RC1 download:

Mr. D
01-17-2007, 12:17 AM

Thanks for responcing, and will try it out after finishing some stuff in 2.42

Mr D

01-17-2007, 08:23 AM
Anytime! Here is an apparently less detailed version in English:


Here's to hoping 2.43 will be out soon!

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2007, 08:23 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.