LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Can I use a HD-DV for cinema output?

02-05-2003, 10:47 AM
Can I use a HD-DV for cinema output?

Let me know,


Milo FX
02-05-2003, 06:02 PM
The answer of your question is yes.
The film resolution is 2048 x 1556 (2k) and the HD resolution is 1920 x 1080. HD is very close to film output like spatial resolution. If it was not, George Lucas wasnt try to shoot Star Wars Episode 2 with it...:)

02-06-2003, 10:59 AM
I believed so :-)


02-09-2003, 10:20 AM
I thought Lucas shot the whole Episode II with Sony's latest HD-CAM? :shrug:

Besides that, HD-CAM is supposed to be used for cinema output.

Milo FX
02-10-2003, 05:26 PM
When Lucas try to use HD format for a feature lenght movie, the HD technologie was very new. Sony and Panavision try to update the camera for the future needs of crew.
Todays HD cams are better then the Episode IIs. :)

02-10-2003, 07:20 PM
And how much MB is 1 minute of HD-DV???


02-10-2003, 07:25 PM
I think you need to contact a professional vendor for film equipment. Maybe you want to take a look at

That's Sony's professional product site. I'm not sure, but I don't think, that whole movies are transferred to hard disk. I think there are other storage media especially for that, but as I stated, I'm not sure about that :shrug:

02-12-2003, 07:29 AM
it would probably be around 9 meg per frame, if it is uncompressed, so about 16200 meg for a min. i think

02-12-2003, 06:36 PM
Originally posted by tweaker
And how much MB is 1 minute of HD-DV???

It depends the HD resolution. There are about 18 different formats in the HD spectrum.

480 i/p
720 i/p
1080 i/p

those are the most common.

G Nilsson
02-17-2003, 02:32 AM
how did you get it to 9mb/16gb?

1920x1080x3 = 6mb/frame
6x24x60 = 8.5gb/min..


Milo FX
02-19-2003, 02:25 AM
What about the compression?

02-19-2003, 10:55 AM
I'm pretty sure, that compression is already implemented in the HDDV format

02-20-2003, 04:41 PM

i'm doing film recording from hdTv (hmm, never heard of hddv) to 35mm every day. i'm working with uncompressed files, but testing rle compression showed that you can save about 1/5 of your original size(depends on the picture, something like a blackwhite credit will be smaller).

i think, hd is originally an uncompressed format, what you do after transfering it to disk is your problem.

i'm using sgi format at about 6mb per frame (with alpha: 9mb), so you have about 8,3 gb for 1 min at 24fps (see mr nielsson).

res is 1920x1080 and is absolutly ok. finally i like it more for compositing than real scanned film, cause it is cleaner and you don't have to regrain your cg stuff...

hope it helps!!

Milo FX
02-21-2003, 07:43 PM
i think, hd is originally an uncompressed format, what you do after transfering it to disk is your problem.

Sorry but HD is not an uncompressed format unless you dont record directly on DDR. It is 4 2 2 YUV format on tape ant it used very special compression method for recording.

But if you try to make a composite in your workstation, it is very normal to you work uncompressly. Please dont mixe the spatial resolution or compression on workstation and on camera...

02-21-2003, 08:48 PM
Oh boy... I'm pretty confused now... Sure, the movie cameras from Sony are called HDCam and the broadcast format is HDTV... But what is HDDV? Is it high definition digital video?

02-22-2003, 12:02 AM
>>But what is HDDV? Is it high definition digital video?

There is no such thing. The original poster probably just meant HDTV. From his other posts it looks like english isn't his first language. No biggie.

02-22-2003, 08:48 AM
No HD DV? then why did I just rent a HDDV for my project?

02-22-2003, 09:39 AM
which hddv cam would that be?

Then only other thing I could think of is the panasonic AG-DVX100. Panasonic lables it as doing 480p which is technically a HD rez but it uses DVCPRO tapes.

02-22-2003, 11:30 AM
That's strange... on google I get a bunch of results for "HDDV camera" but there doesn't seem to be anything official among the results. Maybe it's a common mistake :shrug:

02-23-2003, 12:30 PM
The Sony HDW-f900 CineAlta, thats the Camera.
Its records digital and a tape is about 70 euro for 50 min.


02-23-2003, 10:29 PM
I believe the CineAlta is HDCAM. There's no such thing as "HD DV." There is, however, DVCPRO HD (

02-24-2003, 08:03 AM
Yeah, but it shoots on digital tape, so we just call is HDDV here :-)
Whatever... It gets the job done, and its digital... :buttrock:

02-24-2003, 06:26 PM
Check out the first consumer level HD (DV) camera! :bounce:

High Definition Recording Capability:
720/30P (MPEG2)
480/60P (MPEG2)

No idea if it's a LOT better than a good 3CCD such as our XL1 though...but it's the same price we got the XL1 hehe! :surprised


02-25-2003, 12:51 AM
Hmmm...just noticed it's only a 1CCD camera :annoyed:

Maybe Canon is working on a XL1 HD! :eek:


02-25-2003, 09:48 PM
I don't understand the point of having HD for the consumer. Pretty worthless since the equipment for going out to hd tape is in the 100k range. All this is going to do is confuse a consumer who can't figure out why their 720i footage isn't fitting into a 480 frame that they want to output to video tape.

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 09:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.