XM Magdalena 3D print, GGeorgy (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : File formats for Houdini

01-28-2003, 08:00 PM

Can anyone recommend a file translation software that will allow me to import files modeled in another package into Houdini?

Stuff modeled in Maya but needed to work in Houdini to finish the project? Any ideas?



01-28-2003, 08:07 PM
Houdini reads obj's without a problem. They're probably your best bet. If you're looking for NURBS, then iv's or iges are a good solution. So as long as you can output these from Maya (which I'm fairly certain you can) then you should be fine.


01-29-2003, 10:10 AM
I have tried and tried to import OBJ's into Houdini but to no avail. In the file SOP I get a red flag where it says no geometry available.

I can't even open IGES files now.....any ideas what or where I'm going wrong?

Thanks for the help.



01-29-2003, 11:49 AM
You probably have a space in one of the folder names in the path to the object. Put the obj in a path with no spaces and it will load fine. Also, when you get the object in, you may have to apply a facet SOP and calcaulate the objects normals, or it won't shade properly.

01-30-2003, 10:41 AM
I got rid of all space in the folder names but nothing worked. Although I can re-open all the OBJ or IGES files I am exporting I cannot open them in Houdini. I am really confused now!! Is there a way of exporting to Houdini's native *.bgeo format from Maya or anyhting else for that matter?

Thanks again for the help.



01-30-2003, 04:48 PM
Try this. Create a folder named c:\home. Put your files in there. In the File SOP, type c:/home/mygeo.obj where mygeo.obj is the name of your file.

02-03-2003, 10:43 AM
cheers...thanks for the tip. It worked a treat!! Any reason why this would be?Thanks again for the great help...



02-03-2003, 12:37 PM
Originally posted by john
Any reason why this would be?

Houdini uses a Unix type of directory structure internally on Windows, and it doesn't truncate paths properly if there are spaces in the directory structure. Side FX is aware of the problem.

02-10-2003, 04:53 AM
I think most people using Houdini on Windoze just simply install to their root C:/ Same for prman. It just saves so much hassle.
In the end, its worth the reinstall.

02-10-2003, 03:53 PM
Anyone got any idea how houdini is with importing animated scene files? I'm thinking of adding Select to my pipeline, but would like to import character animations from LW or Maya. I've heard of Maya animations being imported to Houdini, but am not sure whether this applies to Select?:shrug:

02-10-2003, 04:55 PM
I've never tried Select, but I don't think it has any character animation tools. You could import baked frames of character animation I guess. Not really sure now to go about it. Object level animation should be a snap to import though.

With Master and Escape you have character animation tools, and you can convert Motion Analysis, Biovision, and Acclaim motion capture through Houdini's command line tools, and load it into Houdini. So if you need skinned character animation, that'd be the way to go.

Houdini does allow you to load channels as clips which are just ascii files. It should be a fairly easy process to write a MEL script that will wite out properly formatted clips that you can import into Houdini. I think the City of Hong Kong Univerity actually has a tutorial about getting from Maya to Houdini right here:


main page here:


02-10-2003, 05:23 PM
Thanks alot MCronin, that totally answers my question.

02-11-2003, 01:03 AM
also check out Chan Dumper at od[force] > here (http://www.odforce.net/downloads/tools/chandump.mel)

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 08:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.