Lost Adventurer, Aleks Kirilenko (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Obj. Import in Combustion

01-22-2003, 03:32 PM
why is it not possible to import .obj 3d files into combustion?
i had no problems with iges or max models.
but when i import obj data the scene gets blank and it only displays the model's pivot-center.

01-22-2003, 08:11 PM
huh? You're saying you imported a max Model into combustion?!?

01-23-2003, 03:20 PM
:eek: is this a feature of the upcomming version 3 ? :)


01-24-2003, 12:37 AM
That would kick some arse :buttrock:

Well, you CAN import 3d objects in FFI, and we know how the FFI keyer and tracker just so happened to make a cameo in c2.....

01-24-2003, 09:25 AM

Combustion 2.1 does not support importing 3D objects.

You can use RLA and RPF file formats to transfer accross 3D information but that is it.


Discreet UK

01-24-2003, 05:03 PM
strange, what is this screenshot then?

i was just rotating the 3d cube...


01-25-2003, 12:49 AM
wtf :shrug:

01-25-2003, 11:36 AM
Ok.... I can see that openGL is on.....

What exactly did you do to achieve that? What plug-in are you using ?


01-25-2003, 11:41 AM
I've been using combustion since the very beginning even before release and that is not possible unless you just made that up... Looking closely at the screenshot, all the buttons do not look like that in combustion and this screenshot makes the interface look flat. I am also curious to see the workspace window which is missing and I'd like to see your layer structure and timeline..

However, I have an open mind and I am more then willing to hear your explaination....


discreet UK

01-26-2003, 02:58 PM
the interface is modyfied by myself in the color preferences.
i dont like the original depth of the buttons, so i made the border shadows the same, so it looks all flat, which is much sexier.

the workspace tab is missing, because i had a floating workspace tab and unfortunately switched it off.

and yes, unfortunately combustion doesnt support 3d data import at the moment. i hope this will change with v3.

the 3d wireframe in the screenshot is just a layer on the screenshot made in photoshop. forgive me, but i found it too funny and i hope i cought discreet's attention.

01-26-2003, 05:49 PM
You certainly caught my attention. From a legal point of view what you were doing ( as a practical joke) could very well mislead people...

Not matter! good try anyway! :thumbsup:

As for asking for 3D objects, I have submitted it on a wishlist. However you can achieve a limited degree of 3D in combustion using a plug-in called Conoa 3D... There are spheres, boxes etc. Maybe you should check it out....


Discreet UK

01-27-2003, 04:32 AM
You just ruined your reputation (if there's any), dude!

This forum is built to help people not mislead them.

01-27-2003, 09:08 AM
take it easy... :)

at least it made it on the wishlist.
i hope more options from the highend systems will find it's way to combustion.

01-27-2003, 09:50 AM
df supports 3DSMax and LW objects with the Gaia plugin

01-27-2003, 11:02 AM

is this true? i don't know d Fusion.
what i am asking is:

do you mean "real" 3d object support
or "just" something like rpf ?


01-27-2003, 12:22 PM
I did a head in Maya and exported it to flame.


01-27-2003, 03:06 PM
let me know if you're tired of that ol flame, i'll take it :D

01-27-2003, 06:50 PM
Very stupid man. I didnt appreciate that image. Next time think about what you do.

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 06:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.