View Full Version : The Weezer

Griswald
05-20-2006, 03:00 PM
Hello all, I just signed up, I look forward to sharing my work with everyone here and learning some new skills. I'm studying Game Art in South Australia, and I decided I should get feedback from people while I'm compiling a portfolio.

This image is a character concept I did for a project called "The Forest of Souls".
Feel free to criticize the hell out of it.

http://features.cgsociety.org/gallerycrits/225361/225361_1148188069_large.jpg

Naisart
05-20-2006, 05:15 PM
I like it. Especially the ground has some kind of mystic glow too it. Looks realistic in some kind of way. Very cool.

Maybe hinting a forrest in the background would make it more interesting.

Also, I think you should get rid of the black outline and paint the entire image as it doesnīt fit with the BG and it also makes the image look unfinished.

His face is a bit skewd. Expecially the form of his head.

Hope this helps and keep working on it.

Griswald
05-21-2006, 04:19 AM
Thanks for the feedback. I'm still trying to get past the "paint under the linework" concept art technique that I learned in my course, but I'm not quite there yet. I tend to use fairly loose sketches for my digital painting and then go overboard and try to turn them into masterpieces. This one was a pretty small sketch too, which didn't help it much. When I get the time, I'll probably go back to this and try to fix it up a bit, or make a whole new picture of the same character.

xott
05-21-2006, 06:40 AM
cool concept Griswald, it reminds me of the gas mask men from pink floyd's the wall movie.