XM Magdalena 3D print, GGeorgy (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : timecode in playblast

05-11-2006, 03:28 AM
Trying to figure out how to do a playblast with the timecode included
does anyone know how to do this?
downloaded the timecode mel but cant get it to show up in maya.

Robert Bateman
05-11-2006, 05:06 PM
erm, it's a pain. Normally you can use the hud for this, ie :

global proc float hudCurrTime ()
return `currentTime -q`;

headsUpDisplay -section 5
-block 1
-blockSize "medium"
-label "TC"
-labelFontSize "small"
-command "hudCurrTime()"
-event "idle"
-nodeChanges "attributeChange"

however, the problem is that the hud does not get updated during a playblast. The onl things that do get updated during a playblast is basically DG objects. One thing that does work, is to update an annotation object with the frame number via a dummy expression, for example,

create an annotation (possibly attached to the camera), then create this expression on the annotation...

float $f = frame;
setAttr -type "string" "annotation1.text" $f;

You should be able to move the annotation into view (even key it's position if needed, and possibly stop the arrow from being drawn), and therefore you should have a very hacky way of doing it....

CGTalk Moderation
05-11-2006, 05:06 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.