Lost Adventurer, Aleks Kirilenko (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : renderman and PSD's

03-24-2006, 08:24 AM

Renderman kicks ass!!

But what's up with psd's?

Has anyone used the psd network or any psd as a shader successfully with Renderman?


03-24-2006, 04:26 PM
I dont think its suported yet. Are you talking of rfm?

03-24-2006, 10:12 PM

I have renderman for maya 1.0. Do you know if renderman for maya 1.1 can use psd's?

03-24-2006, 10:53 PM
Im not shure actually I switched to proserver I while ago from RFM

03-25-2006, 02:55 AM
I would guess it's not supported. Besides you should use TIFFs for Renderman. I am actually not sure if PSDs is Maya support layers, but you'd get the same image quality from a TIFF as you would a PSD.

But then again I really don't make shader networks in Maya much anymore as I am mostly into RSL. But I do love Maya's shader system.

CGTalk Moderation
03-25-2006, 02:55 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.