XM Magdalena 3D print, GGeorgy (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : SpacePathDeform Move to Path?

03-08-2006, 11:27 AM
I have this problem:
I use MaxScript to apply a SpacePathDeformer to a bunch of objects.
Now i want to move the objects to the original path, just like when you hit that button "Move to Path" with the WSM PathDeformer.
My question is: how do i script this "Move to Path" method?

03-08-2006, 02:54 PM
Hello igor_BSC,

this is explained in the MAXscript Reference:

theObj.transform = thePath.transform --MOVE TO PATH!


03-08-2006, 04:41 PM
Unfortunately this does not show the desired result.
I have tried this before assigning the pathDeform modifier, i have tried this after assigning the pathDeform modifier, i have tried this on just the object itself, on just the gizmo, on the object and the gizmo. The object went all over the place but not onto the path itself. :sad:

03-08-2006, 05:06 PM
Sometimes a reset xform is needed.


03-08-2006, 06:40 PM
Yup, sounds like your original object may have a transform on it. In general, always do a reset xform before trying to use pathdeform for anything. BTW, you may find some useful code for whatever you're doing in my WireBundler script available here:


Feel free to study it and use whatever pieces you need.

- Neil

03-09-2006, 12:35 PM
Thanks for the replies!
Reset XForm didn't do it either. Anyway, it seems that something was messed up in the scene. I redid the whole thing and now it works. $myobject.transform=$mypath.transform works great. Thank you very much.

CGTalk Moderation
03-09-2006, 12:35 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.