View Full Version : Instanced Custom attributes

02 February 2006, 02:24 PM
Hello All,

How do I go about applying my CA rollout and UI items but as an instanced CA so changing the state of things like checkboxes would propogate to the other objects with the same CA rollout.

I know If I clone an object as an instance any CA`s it had would also become an instanced, I cant use this method because some the objects will be shapes and some will be polys also some of the objects already have different CA rollouts.



02 February 2006, 09:54 AM
Sorry this must have a blindingly obvious solution or maybe I didnt make sense question or maybe its not possible?


02 February 2006, 11:15 AM
i asked something like this a few days ago,

the common method is to instance the modifier the ca is on

it looks like you can't create an instance of the ca itself on multiple objects

02 February 2006, 11:54 AM
You can create an instance of the CA on multiple objects but the controllers on the tracks will not be instanced. You can then instance those contorllers as well if you want.

02 February 2006, 05:50 PM
Here's the post Aearon was refering to:

Check out the script code I posted for an example of how to instance controllers. Like Paul mentioned, focus on instancing the controllers themselves, not the CA.

02 February 2006, 06:08 PM
Cheers everybody for the input, I will read that thread and see whats the been discussed.

Thanks again .


CGTalk Moderation
02 February 2006, 06:08 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.