View Full Version : Graphic tablet: Which one for a beginner?

Phoen!X
01 January 2006, 06:53 PM
Hello there, I just registered here and I have a question about graphic tablets.
I want to start with the whole 2D-Art thing and find it impossible to make a drawing with the mouse. So I decided to get a graphics tablet. But which one shall I buy? Could anyone help me?
- It should be compatible with Adobe Photoshop 7
- Because I'm a beginner, it should be easy to use
- I don't have unlimited money...
The Wacom Graphire 4 caught my attention because Wacom seems to be a good manufacturer and it was, considering other models, pretty cheap (80 bucks).
But it only has a A6 (about 9cm x 12cm) size. I'm afraid that's too small for drawing, is that so? Could any of the "professionals" here tell me if this is enough? Please help me! Thanks a lot. :)

KorbenD
01 January 2006, 08:44 PM
There are larger Graphire tablets you could look into, if you feel this one is too small for you. If you use large wrist movements when you draw, it might very well be.

I own a Wacom Intuos3 9x12 and an Aiptek 12000U the same size. After using them both, I have to say the Wacom is well worth the extra cost. Don't even bother going with a cheaper brand, since you'll either get frustrated and stop using a tablet, or you'll eventually upgrade to a Wacom. :)

jcbray
01 January 2006, 11:55 PM
The graphire series is very decent, and a lot cheaper then the Intuos counter-part. If you're just beginning, i'm sure the graphire would be fine for you. THe graphire 4, i'm sure, like the other series, (3, for example) i'm sure comes in many sizes, I own a 6x8 and the size is good for me. Personallu I suggest you try a size before you buy, to see wich suits you best.

Phoen!X
01 January 2006, 12:38 AM
Thanks for the help :)