LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Alpha Alarm - creating Alpha's

11-07-2005, 04:28 PM
I want to create an alpha (BW) based on the transparency of my canvas.
Like I paint a stroke and want that to be a b/w image. I can not use
the magic wand because I have many overlapping pieces.

Is there a way I can simply create an alpha based on the transparency
photoshop gives me.


11-07-2005, 04:50 PM

If your transparency is based on a single layer, you can ctrl click the layer thumbnail (it will select the transparency), then goto to the channels panel, add an alpha layer, and then press backspace (which will fill the opaque areas with white).

If your transparency is based on several layers, you can ctrl click each thumbnail whilst pressing shift (it will add to the previous selection)

If you have too many layers to do that, create a new layer, press ctrl-alt-shift-e, it will merge all visible layers into that layer, and then you can do what I described above.

Hope this is what you wanted


11-07-2005, 05:55 PM
Wow, thanks!
Very Fast Replay!
Exactly what I was looking for!

CGTalk Moderation
11-07-2005, 05:55 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.