View Full Version : Bug of smooth bind ?


nickyliu
07 July 2005, 12:43 AM
Did anyone ever translate a character with smooth bind from 0 to 1000000 ? The vertex seemed could not follow exactly. I found that some weigths of the vertex are above 1 or smaller than 0, e.g. 1.00003.

I have to idea at all to fix it. Great if anyone have idea.

Andrei2k
07 July 2005, 05:07 AM
You mean you have No idea at all?

Try this.....select all your vertices and go to Edit Smooth Bind > Normalize weights.

nickyliu
07 July 2005, 10:39 AM
I've tried every menu item under smooth bind but didn't seem to work. Have you tried it?

Create a ball, create a bone with two joints, smooth bind the ball to it, move the root joint to <<0,100000,0>>.

nickyliu
07 July 2005, 03:03 AM
I got a quick solution finally: Export and then import the weight map for the object.

It brings all the vertex back to normal again. But the translation still can't be too large.

bugo
07 July 2005, 05:57 AM
I think thatīs because the world clip distance will not permit a full range for the skin, try to simply add in your camera (far clip) some space of environment and try again, i havent tried it, but I think it will refresh all the skin into this distance...
It isnt tested...

CGTalk Moderation
07 July 2005, 05:57 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1