XM Magdalena 3D print, GGeorgy (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : nvidia xsi drivers

10-16-2002, 09:11 AM
are there any nvidia drivers for xsi or xsi drivers for nvidia graphic cards? (i use "only" the g4600 ti128)

10-16-2002, 11:20 PM
The only way you'll get the certified drivers (http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=IO_20010601_3255) to work is if you convert the card to a Quadro 4. Basically, give it a shot, because only you can decide if you think the minimal increase in performance is worth it.

10-17-2002, 02:55 AM
Its not an issue like it is with Maya. they make XSI to not need specific cards in general.

10-17-2002, 04:58 AM
Here's a nice trick, not sure if it will work for Geforce4 but thought I would mention it. Im running a Geforce 3 Ti200 128mb riva tuned to make the system believe its a Quadro DCC. I was running Det 40.72 but decieded to download and install the XSI certified driver for the Quadro (28.84) and it worked...Im getting much better performance wireframed ,shaded etc.

10-17-2002, 02:35 PM
Like I said. He'll need to Quadro the card, either physically or using Softquadro.
It has no benefits for the 4 series under lab conditions, but I haven't personally checked out the skinny on XSI with their certified drivers. But as Rich says, you get (relatively) pretty nice performance out of a Geforce 4 in XSI anyhow.

10-17-2002, 02:55 PM
Whoops :hmm: repost

10-17-2002, 05:30 PM
Nope, you can't do that to the GF4's. No quadro's anymore. That's a great card btw (I have the same one. gainward).

Are you having problems with it?

10-17-2002, 05:34 PM
Yep, you can.

10-17-2002, 06:09 PM
If that was a response to me. Please elaborate :bounce:

10-17-2002, 07:21 PM
Like before, you can do the resistor hack, and SoftQuadro still works.
Trouble is, nVidia seem to have come up with some wily little method of all but negating the process. So you can have a card that appears as Quadro, but from package to package the benefits may range from slim to none.
You may get an ever so slightly more stable environment though, since I'm pretty sure certified drivers are only produced for the quadro line where nVidia are concerned.

10-18-2002, 06:49 AM
check out the following thread


10-18-2002, 03:55 PM
I've heard of people making the OS recognize the card as a quadro but if there's no performance benifits then why?

10-18-2002, 04:04 PM
What we in my area refer to as 'pimp value'. Some people just like to say they have a quadro.
Also, I'm not sure what the stability issues are when running certified drivers from package to package. Probably zip, but maybe a little improvement, at a pinch.

10-20-2002, 03:11 AM
I have definatly notice a performance upgrade by using the the Quadro XSI certified drivers, realtime playback is just that. Did you notice the FPS I was getting before and after on that XSI Base thread.

10-20-2002, 07:05 AM
Yes, but I read somewhere that you have a GF3. Correct?

Dan Wade
10-20-2002, 10:55 AM
Its seems like the performance increase with these new drivers for the GF3 series of cards sounds quite cool. I am using a GF 4 ti4600. I am currently using the latest 40.72 drivers. Is it worth getting the SoftQuadro drivers for my card? Also...silly question...but will my 3d games still work with this driver?


10-20-2002, 01:58 PM
Yes, gaming is absolutely fine. You may notice a small hit in performance over using it as a geforce, but it probably won't even be noticeable outside synthetic benchmarks.

If anyone reading has anything other than the cards mentioned, the Geforce > Quadro mod can be done on any Geforce card.

10-20-2002, 05:20 PM
Yes, a Rivatuned one.

10-25-2002, 04:43 AM
try detonator 12.41

10-25-2002, 05:05 AM
Before I try it what can you tell me... Is this just a newer driver or does it do something if you hacked your board?

10-25-2002, 03:00 PM
I havea gforce 2 GO (mobile)
can I also use those drivers or will it harm the whole perfomance?

10-25-2002, 03:34 PM
You should be able to convert that to a quadro 2 go. Overall, performance will be fine.

10-27-2002, 09:16 AM
Eh? I thought back in the day when the Geforce4 came out everyone tried the same things they had done with the GF2's and GF3's to make them Quadros and it didn't work. Like Visualboo said it only cosmetically made them Quadros in Windows. I remember seeing tests they rean after "changing" them and there wasn't any improvement over the other gf4s and they weren't up to the Quadro Geforce4s.

EDIT: ack, I missed your post, Bradford010, about the "pimp value" thing.


11-04-2002, 12:49 PM
Actually a modded quadro4 has about 1/3 of the performance of a quadro4 with maxtreme drivers...

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 08:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.