Lost Adventurer, Aleks Kirilenko (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Can painter 8 brushes be loaded/imported into Photoshop CS???

05-10-2005, 10:10 PM
Can painter 8 brushes be loaded/imported into Photoshop CS???


05-11-2005, 10:53 AM
No, they cannot.

05-11-2005, 11:02 AM
I'm not a techhead, but as far as I know, the reason (one reason..., not THE reason :) ) they can't be imported is that they're different in nature from photoshop brushes. PS brushes are simply sprites that you draw with - this is how it's so easy to create custom brushes in PS.
Brushes in Painter are vectorbased however, and contain a number of settings to do with the way they act similar to traditional media brushes. That's why you can resize them to any size you want, Painter calculates the new settings for it, based on the information stored in the brush.

05-11-2005, 02:54 PM
stefanminning, plaf



CGTalk Moderation
05-11-2005, 02:54 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.