Lost Adventurer, Aleks Kirilenko (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : How to ignore the alpha channel in PS?

05-04-2005, 01:52 PM
Hello everybody,

How can i ignore the alpha channel when import a Tga with alpha?

05-04-2005, 03:15 PM
Do you mean that when you open your image it's transparent on the layer, where the alpha is?

you could try converting it to 24 bit - or try going to your channels menu in Photoshop and just deleting the alpha channel.

05-04-2005, 03:56 PM
My image is a 32bit tga format.

However I want to open it with the background shown in PS.

And only "RGB", "R", "G", "B" channels, no "alpha"

thx plaf

05-04-2005, 04:10 PM
I'm sorry, I'm not understanding what exactly happens when you open your image / what your problem specifically is.

You have a 32bit image, that is to say that it has an R,G,B and A channel (Red, Green, Blue, Alpha) - a 32 bit image per definition has an alpha channel. If you want to ditch the alpha channel, you can save as 24bit instead?

05-04-2005, 04:25 PM
let's say, can I have the function "Ignore Alpha" in PS just like AfterEffects?

05-04-2005, 07:36 PM
cheung - when you have your alpha channel setup as a layer mask, you can simply use the "disable layer mask" option from the layer menu to toggle the mask on and off (of course, if your alpha channel isn't setup as a mask, then you can simply uncheck its visibility option from the channels menu. This is usually deselected by default anyway)

CGTalk Moderation
05-04-2005, 07:36 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.