View Full Version : First Post: Composited Republican gunship


brianellebracht
09 September 2002, 04:40 PM
This is my first post I am going to try this out hopefully this will work. This is a still shot of an animation that I am working on. Rendered and animated in Maya, Comosited in After effects. Camera shots were taken with a Cannon GL1 What do you think?


http://us.f1.yahoofs.com/users/eefeb56c/bc/My+Documents/__hr_republican+ship+arch+with+shadow---1.jpg?bcqnNm9Ask55Hy_y


[http://us.f1.yahoofs.com/users/eefeb56c/bc/My+Documents/__hr_republican+gunship+going+thru+clouds.jpg?bcqnNm9A62kK4QVk

SmileAlwaze
09 September 2002, 05:17 PM
Very nice! I applaud your work

Spankenstein
09 September 2002, 05:28 PM
heh, nice job on the shadow in the first one, but your DOF is jacked up in the second, it makes them look about one inch long...

Stimpy
09 September 2002, 05:47 PM
in the first pic, since the light comes from the upper right, shouldnt the wing cast a shadow onto the body of the ship ???

also i think the underside is too bright, which makes it stick out...

brianellebracht
09 September 2002, 05:54 PM
Thanks for the info. I agree on the picturewith the three , i actually just copied the original image, scaled it up and added more blur.the animation only has the one in the middle. Thanks for your input.
brian

Stimpy
09 September 2002, 06:01 PM
like this:

http://stimpy.netfirms.com/wings_shadow.jpg


and somehow i get the feeling that there is a small black outline on your model... zoom in on the left one of those "eyes", the one that is in front of the highrise to see what i mean...

check your alpha interpretation settins or maybe blur the alpha a tiny tiny bit to help it integrate...

mah 2 cents...

brianellebracht
09 September 2002, 09:57 PM
thanks for paying so much attention to detail. I appreciate it. I have't quite figured out how to get rid of that grey outline alpha channel issue. Anyways, the link should be fixed now

Stimpy
09 September 2002, 10:30 PM
have you checked on your alpha interpretation in After Effects ???

dont know exactly about maya but most likely it should be on "premultiplied - matted with color".

if that doesnt work, just try the other one.. ;)

maybe that will get rid of that line.

brianellebracht
09 September 2002, 10:33 PM
Thanks alot, i will try it out later on tonight, i have to go to class.

CGTalk Moderation
01 January 2006, 06:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1