XM Magdalena 3D print, GGeorgy (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : How can I render wireframe in XSI?

02-13-2002, 08:52 PM
I know Soft 3D quite well, but I'm new to XSI. How can I make a wireframe rendering of an object? Has it to be done with the nodes in the render tree?

02-13-2002, 10:57 PM
Use the toon shader, it has wireframe rendering capabilities. For more info see this thread: Wire Render (http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1076)

02-13-2002, 11:24 PM
Thanks Ed. It's always cool to know that Ed is around, I always see you in many forums, so I know if nobody can answer the question...Ed can. I need definitely to buy one of your great tapes :-)

02-14-2002, 03:38 AM
You are welcome Raffael.
Thanks a lot for the compliments. =)

02-14-2002, 05:09 AM
Hi Rafael, also u can render with the "Start Capture" button located under ur little camera icon (top of ur camera view)... u can render in wireframe, hidden line, shaded, etc! anyone u want... and u can render in any format u want too (pics, tif, avi-s, mov-s,etc).

I use it a lot for testing timing in animation :D

hope it helps u out!


02-14-2002, 09:45 PM
and not forgetting the GRID map :)
(plugged into TRANSPARENCY of the shader I mean)

02-15-2002, 02:30 AM
I think the "start capture" is definitely the way to go for fast wireframe renders,
you can also apply open gl aliasing to the wireframe as it's capturing, so you get nicely smoothed lines in your anim at the end of it!!

Good luck raffael

06-10-2002, 02:26 PM
check out wireframe toon shader tut


CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 02:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.