View Full Version : Car Modeling

ice2wrist
02 February 2005, 10:51 PM
Im new to car modeling and I wanted to know what is the easiest way ?

Ibah
02 February 2005, 06:41 AM
try some tutorials first, there isnt really a best way. the differs, some people like a some b..

but most people like this aproac:

setup your reference of the car.. side front , top view.

draw the importan lines with splines, make a 3d drawing this way, of a spline network.

when done you can use it as a 3d reference.

than start out with a face, and extrude it, again and again (poly modelling)
good place to start is the hood of the car.. go to the side and grill from there.. etc

ice2wrist
02 February 2005, 06:13 PM
When they use a polygon, do they extrude the edges. I tryed box modeling but i dont like the results from it

titaniumdave
02 February 2005, 06:26 PM
When they use a polygon, do they extrude the edges. I tryed box modeling but i dont like the results from it

Yes. I start out with a simple poly plane with no divisions. Then I pick the direction I'm going in. Say I start at the center of the hood and I want to move towards the edge of the hood where it meets the side. I put my plane in the center and select the edge on the side and extrude. Usely a few times, atleast enough to get the general curve of the hood but not to much. Ofcourse I start, as mention above, by drawing curves to outline each piece of the car first.

ice2wrist
02 February 2005, 08:24 PM
Can i see some renders of cars you have done..if so you can send them to my email notorious986@yahoo.com or you can IM me on AIM my sreenname is notourious86

ice2wrist
02 February 2005, 02:48 AM