View Full Version : Surface Editing


ankalar
09 September 2002, 04:45 PM
ok, i'm new to lightwave if you didn't know, and i want to set one object as one surface, and another object (it's on another layer) as another layer, how do i create a new surface in the surface editor and how do i select what i want the surface to apply to?

WilliamVaughan
09 September 2002, 04:51 PM
Check out Chapter 31 in the manual....it will explain all....

Eugeny
09 September 2002, 04:51 PM
Hit "q" and get the name...

ankalar
09 September 2002, 04:52 PM
wait, i still don't get how to make a new surface?

Chewey
09 September 2002, 05:06 PM
rtm. It's your buddy. Get to know it.

-Select some polys
-hit "q" on your qwerty style keyboard
-type in a new name
-play with parameters shown below the name box
-click on "OK" after you're done fooling around.
-Post thank you message

ankalar
09 September 2002, 05:09 PM
oh, thanks guys, hehe, it wouldn't let me type in a new name at first so i thought that i had to select default :shrug:

EDIT: oh yea, and how do i save the render as a jpg?

anieves
09 September 2002, 06:24 PM
Originally posted by ankalar
oh, thanks guys, hehe, it wouldn't let me type in a new name at first so i thought that i had to select default :shrug:

EDIT: oh yea, and how do i save the render as a jpg?

Ok, ppl have been kind so far, instead of rtfm you got an rtm!
so here it goes... RTFM! this is a basic question and if you make the effort you will find it... unless you don't have the manual at all...

eventually ppl. will refuse to answer your questions.

ankalar
09 September 2002, 06:29 PM
btw, i read the manual and i couldn't find where it was, i also read inside lightwave

ghopper
09 September 2002, 07:05 PM
save as JPG - look it up in the index or what you also could do

USE GOOGLE

Before I ask anything, I usually :

•check the manual
•use search engines to find an answer
•look at several lightwave newsgroups or forums ( like this one )

wgreenlee1
09 September 2002, 07:19 AM
........Gee.....All this nube talk is bringing back old memorys.

I remember my my first nube question....
"How do you select points?"

Hehe...of course that was before I even got Lightwave and I was still running the Demo.
Ive learnt to keep the manual right beside the keyboard.
:p

Lizard Head
09 September 2002, 05:56 PM
I've never asked a noob Question...If I can't find the answer myself, or figure it out on my own,,,screw it, I dont need it!!!



Adios
Lizard*

CGTalk Moderation
01 January 2006, 05:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1