View Full Version : Workstation Setup


jribbe1
10 October 2004, 12:40 AM
Hi everyone. I am sure this has been asked a thousand time but here goes. I am ready for a computer that will make max 6 cry. Price is no object i can get whatever. I want my max 6 to render at blazing speeds so i was thinking about adding an art vps puredrive card to the setup. But as far as specs go. I was thinking;

- Dual Xeons 3.6 with 2 gigs of Corsair XMS2 Pro memory
- 168 gigs of seagate ultra 320 15,000rpm scsi storage
- quadro 4000/4400 or the 3dlabs realizm 800 (I spoke to the guy at 3d labs and he said how it would crush the competition and adding a PURE card would make it even better, but i know that could be just sales talk) i am very weary about what video card to get.
- either supermicro or tyan thunder mobo

FOR RENDERING: i want to render very very high 2,000,000+ poly scenes without sweating if i need to. Should i get a few render nodes from BOXX tech to help with that? If i do i have a 4 computer network render setup here and i dont want to have to send it to the render que and have it piece the image together in a folder, is there a way to network render and have it display the final results on my screen interactively?

VIEWPORT DISPLAY: I want to be able to smoothly and quickly fly through my scenes with high poly counts with no problem as well.

WHAT DO YOU GUYS RECOMMEND. Thanks

evanfotis
10 October 2004, 01:22 PM
If cost is no problem look into these workstations:
http://www.go-l.com/workstations/index.htm
And be sure to confi a system that uses PU-RAM, that boots OS, and software from a flash mem RAM , blazing fast:
http://www.go-l.com/desktops/machl38/architecture/index.htm
Apart from that, do install more RAM, what can just 2gb suffice for?
Then use supermicro instead of Tyan, that I think uses via chipsets.
For digitizing think of Microscribe , (http://www.immersion.com/digitizer/)and for modeling use something like SpaceBall 5000, or the other claw style,
and use 3d stereo displays, or have a look at http://www.go-l.com/monitors/index.htm.
This is for starters. You can go on using medea arrays, pure render card etc.etc.

jribbe1
10 October 2004, 01:28 PM
yea i have seen go-l already but their new machines are not out yet.

lots
10 October 2004, 02:01 PM
Go-l really bothers me. Has anyone actually ever recieved a machine from them?

Wasnt there a thread about them a while ago?

imashination
10 October 2004, 03:24 PM
1) Don't listen to what 3dlabs have to say about 3dlabs cards. Its like listening to what apple say about apple machines. Look for independent third party reviews.

2) 2 million polys isnt very very very high, its about average these days.

3) Do you need a 15,000rpm harddrive? it will be very very noisey and wont give any worthwhile benefit to a 3d station.

jribbe1
10 October 2004, 03:53 PM
well i would go as many poly's as possible 10 mil if i need to, i do complex particle animation, and simulations. i want speed with transfers as well, that is why i chose the 15k U320, i dont care about noise. imashination, did you have a bad experience with 3dlabs?

Also Lots, i actually submitted a inquiry twice to go-l and never heard a word back, so that just shows you how important customers are.

leas5040
10 October 2004, 03:59 PM
I wouldn't recommend L computers. MaxPc has had an editorial about them several times, and with all of MaxPc's subscribers, they've only received 3 responses from owners of L computers. I would stick with what is tried and true for right now; I don't think L is going anywhere at the moment.

CGTalk Moderation
01 January 2006, 01:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1