View Full Version : Darktrees in XSI...


runejw
09 September 2004, 08:07 PM
Hi,
I've used Darktrees once-upon-a-time in AM, so it was nice to see that there is some support for it in XSI also:

http://www.sukio.de/resources/TIWdteXSI/ :thumbsup:

Anyway I tried to use them in a scene I've started on and mostly it seems OK.

However I thought I'd use the bump-channel instead of the displacement channel (less expensive in render-time, easier to control) and did this:


http://home.online.no/~ru-j-wi/artimages/darktree1.jpg


* Does that look OK to any render-tree experts out there or am I doing the bumps the wrong way?


Cheers,
Rune

3DDave
09 September 2004, 02:41 AM
What version of XSI are you using? I tried to use this plugin for darktree but it would not load any darktree files so it doesn't work. I am using XSI 4 Foundation.

francescaluce
09 September 2004, 02:44 AM
you have to use a bumpgenerator to get bump.






ciao
francesca

3DDave
09 September 2004, 03:08 AM
Ok, it works now. The original install did not place any files in the darktree engine directory.

runejw
09 September 2004, 08:26 AM
you have to use a bumpgenerator to get bump.


ciao
francesca
Thanks,

seems to be better with elevation -> scalar_to_color -> bumpmap generator -> bump


But the Phong has the Bump input while the Material node has the Bump Map input. Is it the same which one you use?

3DDave: Yes XSI Foundation here too :)


Cheers,
Rune

runejw
09 September 2004, 04:58 PM
Did some viewing of the nice videos on the "Rendering in XSI" DVD which came with XSI Foundation. Several videos on bump-mapping alone :buttrock: Guess I should have viewed them before...

Anyway I figured it out, so for normal 3D procedurals in XSI you have to use this setup:

http://home.online.no/~ru-j-wi/artimages/ProcBumpRT.jpg


The problem with the Darktree shaders is there's no "coord" input, unless you select the twidte_col UV and twidte_elev UV types, so with that in mind you get a rendertree something like this

http://home.online.no/~ru-j-wi/artimages/DarkTreeBumpRT.jpg


Now I guess the 3DBump which was described in another thread is even better to use with the Darktree procedurals, as it doesn't need UV mapping.



Cheers,
Rune

CGTalk Moderation
01 January 2006, 06:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1