View Full Version : smooth wireframes?


pappuftp
08 August 2004, 02:52 PM
how do i set a smooth open-gl display in XSI viewports

like how u have smooth wirefranme in maya?

bravmm
08 August 2004, 03:01 PM
Can you explain how it looks like, because not all of us came from a Maya background :D

cheers,

rob

titaniumdave
08 August 2004, 03:21 PM
What are you asking? You want to smooth your objects or do you want wireframe on a shaded object?

seb4d
08 August 2004, 03:30 PM
In Maya you can apply anti-aliasing to objects in wireframe view.
I don't think there is such an option in XSI, at least I haven't found it.

titaniumdave
08 August 2004, 03:44 PM
So basically you just want to smooth the object in wireframe view? Every polygon in xsi is a subd so all you have to do to smooth it is hit + on the numpad to subd it and - to take it back to poly.

SheepFactory
08 August 2004, 05:24 PM
no there is no smooth wireframe option in XSI afaik. You can make the wireframe thicker if you are unhappy with the thickness.

mocaw
08 August 2004, 06:28 PM
Maybe he ment as a Nurbs object?

SheepFactory
08 August 2004, 06:32 PM
No he means smooth wireframe , an option in maya that antialiases the object wireframe display. you guys can stop the guess game now , I used maya before :)

pappuftp
08 August 2004, 06:59 PM
sheep factory , yes thats exatcly what i wanted .. antialiased lines in xsi . But Alas it seems there is no option anywhere

titaniumdave
08 August 2004, 07:46 PM
Atleast someone knew what was going on. :thumbsup:

ostov
08 August 2004, 08:05 PM
Well, you can turn on anti-alising (you probly know how to do that with your card, if you dont, then leave 3dhttp://cgtalk.com/images/smilies/thumbsup.gif) I have got some problems with this, but it might work for you...

KolbyJukes
08 August 2004, 09:26 PM
If you want to anti-alias your wire in viewport, just up the anti aliasing in your video card options (usually it's set to 'application controlled', I set it to 4x or 8x, for really smooth lines).

-Kol.

JDex
08 August 2004, 09:38 PM
You're probably going to need a really powerful card on approved drivers to keep stability in XSI when using high OGL AA.

I've not had any luck on consumer cards w/ OGL AA & XSI.

pappuftp
08 August 2004, 08:24 AM
I would rather have gcards tweaks application controlled rather than have to set things globally .. maye 4.01 would have that option ..

thnx all tho

CGTalk Moderation
01 January 2006, 03:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.


1