XM Magdalena 3D print, GGeorgy (3D)
LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : help rendering a mesh Wire

04-22-2004, 06:24 AM
Hi ... was wondering how to render out a wire mesh......?

any help appreciated.......:)

04-22-2004, 06:46 AM
theres no "render" but if you set your viewport to hidden lines or constant and do a camera capture with opengl turned on it looks just as good , try it out

04-22-2004, 07:00 AM

yeah i tryed doing that but ive got over 1000000 polys in the mesh.....and if i do a viewport render it just looks like a black mess... I was looking around ed harris's website and found this tut ... using a toon shader havnt managed to get any good results yet.....

cheers PFB

04-22-2004, 05:34 PM
You wont get good results using the toon wire, when geometryt is to close together it creats triangle lines on the polys. not the most effective for highpoly,

what ray said is the best way, if you added 1+ or 2+ sumbivistions then turn on show simplified subdivision wireframe in your camera options. if its your mesh and not actual subd's then damn you probly went overboard


CGTalk Moderation
01-18-2006, 03:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.