View Full Version : Alpha channel missing specular, Please help!

04 April 2004, 03:30 AM
I seem to be missing the SPECULAR in my alpha channels...When I try to composite I loose alot of detail. Has anyone ever had this trouble before, can it be fixed? Both, Maya and Mental ray renders seem to have the same problem...(Maya 5.0.1)

04 April 2004, 08:44 AM
Couldn't find that in Maya software but in Mr you should just try another option in the Frambuffer Attributes in the render globals : Colorclip : RGB.
I think you were set to raw.


04 April 2004, 05:17 PM
THANK YOU pasto!

This solved the problem using Mental Ray render, Also I unchecked Premultiply and ended up with a good looking comp.
I would still like to understand how to fix this with the standard Maya render.

Thanks again pasto, Joel

Colorchip RAW...

And, Colorchip RGB...

04 April 2004, 06:02 PM
You are welcome Joel, if you find how to do it in maya software, I am fully interested !!


04 April 2004, 08:23 PM
Try rendering in passes (color, shadow and specular) and apply the specular pass as addtive in compositing.

Good luck,

CGTalk Moderation
01 January 2006, 12:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.