LC #42 Pipers Alley

View Full Version : Set matte not workingin combustion

03-10-2004, 10:28 PM
Why am I getting no result from this? the v shaped matte should be working but I'm just getting black...any idea?


03-11-2004, 09:24 AM

Try using luminance or alpha as your setting rather then value.

You would choose your setting based on the source of the matte.

Hope this helps.



03-11-2004, 10:57 PM
In Workspace, move "the branch 'Draw halo'" below and into "the branch 'Composite - Untitled'".

good luck!

03-12-2004, 02:07 PM
Thats it!!!! why does that have to be? All I did was connect it to the main composite with a new layer, and hid the layer... like you said..

That shouldn't make any difference... I guess it needs to be in the main composite to be "seen" even if its not going to be.. well, seen.

that doesn't make too much sense..but it worked


03-12-2004, 03:38 PM
Combustion is layer based. Like a Pyramid, the top is what you get, everything below is whatīs make the composite.

Donīt make the schematic view fool the eye, always look in the Workspace.

03-12-2004, 03:42 PM
I understand that. but I didn't change the order of anything, I just drew a lin from the draw halo branch to the main composte, made a new layer, and then hid that new layer. I didn't change any order..

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2006, 05:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.